Nigeria is only African country barred from 2022 US visa lottery

Dadi Shield - Broken
Join Lite9ja Telegram Channel For Instant Update

Nigerians have been barred from participating in the United States’ visa lottery in 2022.

Nigeria is only African country barred from 2022 US visa lottery

This was disclosed in a document titled ‘Instructions for the 2022 diversity immigrant visa program (dv-2022)’ obtained from the US’ website on Thursday, October 15.

“In Africa, natives of Nigeria are not eligible for this year’s Diversity Visa program,” the document stated.

Dadi Shield - Broken

It stated that Nigeria was barred because more than 50,000 of its citizens immigrated to the United States in the previous five years.

ALSO READ  92 Chadian soldiers Were Killed By Bokoharam ― Deby

Citizens of other African countries are eligible to apply, but “persons born in the areas administered prior to June 1967 by Israel, Jordan, Syria, and Egypt are chargeable,
respectively, to Israel, Jordan, Syria, and Egypt. Persons born in the Gaza Strip are chargeable to Egypt; persons born in the West Bank are chargeable to Jordan; persons born in the Golan Heights are chargeable to Syria.”

ALSO READ  FG Speaks On Prolonging Lockdown Period In Lagos, Ogun and FCT After 14days (See Full Details)

The document reads in part, “Applicants who are selected in the program (selectees) must meet simple but strict eligibility requirements to qualify for a diversity visa. The Department of State determines selectees through a randomized computer drawing. The Department of State distributes diversity visas among six geographic regions, and no single country may receive more than seven percent of the available DVs in any one year.

“For DV-2022, persons born in the following countries are not eligible to apply, because more than 50,000 natives of these countries immigrated to the United States in the previous five years: Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China (including Hong Kong SAR), Colombia, Dominican
Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, South Korea, United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam.

ALSO READ  Breaking News: President Buhari Will Be Addressing Nigerians By 7pm Today

“Persons born in Macau SAR and Taiwan are eligible.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply